Thursday, November 28, 2019

Portuguese youngster Joao Felix named 2019 Golden Boy winner ahead of Jadon Sancho and Kai Havertz

Portuguese and Atletico Madrid superstar, Joao Felix has won the Golden Boy award for 2019 ahead of Borussia Dortmund's Jadon Sancho and Bayer Leverkusen's Kai Havertz. 

The 20-year-old youngster earned global recognition after scoring 18 goals last season for his former club Benfica . His outstanding performances earned him a £113million move to Spanish football club, Atletico Madrid earlier this summer.

On being named the 2019 Golden Boy winner, Felix said: 'Thanks to Tuttosport for the Golden Boy Award 2019, I am very proud.

'It is the second time that a player from Atletico Madrid has won this award and I am happy.

'Thanks also to Benfica, in particular to coach Bruno Lage for all he has done for me and my family that is always close to me.'

Borussia Dortmund and England footballer, Sancho finished as runner-up for the prize.


2003: Rafael van der Vaart
2004: Wayne Rooney
2005: Lionel Messi
2006: Cesc Fabregas
2007: Sergio Aguero
2008: Anderson
2009: Alexandre Pato 
2010: Mario Balotelli 
2011: Mario Gotze
2012: Isco
2013: Paul Pogba
2014: Raheem Sterling
2015: Anthony Martial
2016: Renato Sanches 
2017: Kylian Mbappe
2018: Mattijs de Ligt 


Post a Comment